Saturday, October 01, 2011

2011 James Applewhite Poetry Prize

John Thomas York, of Greensboro, is the winner of the 2011 James Applewhite Poetry Prize competition for his poem "Lamp." York will receive a prize of $250, and his poem will be published in the North Carolina Literary Review’s 2012 issue.

Renowned North Carolina poet James Applewhite selected York’s poem from several finalists whose work had been selected for publication in NCLR 2012 by NCLR Poetry Editor Jeffrey Franklin. York read his winning poem at the 2011 Eastern North Carolina Literary Homecoming at East Carolina University on September 23. The inaugural James Applewhite Poetry Prize competition was funded by the Mary Duke Biddle Foundation.

Other writers from the 2011 competition to be published in the 2012 issue include Debra Kaufman, Susan Laughter Meyers, Valerie Nieman, Glenis Gale Redmond, Mark Smith-Soto, and Cindy Thompson. The issue will also feature poetry by James Applewhite.

Click here to read the complete press release from NC Literary Review and to obtain information about submitting to the James Applewhite Poetry Prize competition and about subscribing to NCLR:

News of James Applewhite Poetry Prize, with photo

No comments: